Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto — Hahn/Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/Petrenko

by admin on September 1, 2011 · 1 comment

in Classical Recordings

by James Norris

With more than thirty versions of the Tchaikovsky concerto in the catalogue any newcomer needs to bring something special to stand out from the crowd and I’m pleased to say that Hilary Hahn doesn’t disappoint.

This is not a high voltage virtuoso takes all performance but a keenly felt and very poetic reading of the work, Hahn draws a multi coloured web of sound out of her violin an conjures up a magical palate that presents each idea as a fresh and beautifully phrased statement which seamlessly follows almost as if the notes are fresh off the page and being heard for the first time.

The RLPO under Petrenko gives her a perfectly balanced accompaniment and the opening wind statement in the slow movement is a portent of the beauty to follow as Hahn weaves her magic and creates a performance which draws you in to an intimate sound world seldom created in commercial recordings. The Finale is poised and virtuosic without ever resorting to hysteria and you are left feeling moved and uplifted by a truly musical experience.

The orchestra is in superb form and is really on a roll, I only wish that the balance had placed them slightly more forward so we could really relish their crisp and articulated performance.

This is a performance well worth exploring and is coupled with the Higdon concerto that Hahn premiered and which is a fine addition to the contemporary concerto repertoire.

DG 28947 78777
Playing time: 68:16

affiliate link.

{ 1 trackback }

Audiophilia Recommended New Releases 2011 — Audiophilia
01.05.12 at 2:40 pm

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>